Pages tagged "smart phones"

  • Massachusetts Hands-Free Law

    EOPSS campaign

    WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW:

    The Massachusetts Hands-Free Driving Law took effect on February 23, 2020. There was a 5 week grace period in which warnings were given out. After March 31st, 2020, citations will be issued. It is still illegal to compose or read texts, emails, or social media; or watch videos or use the camera function on your phone. Drivers under 18 are banned from all phone use, including use of all other electronic devices.

    FINES AND PENALTIES:

    • First offense - $100
    • Second offense - $250 and the driver is required to take a distracted driving education course
    • Third offense -  $500 which is surchargeable to your insurance 

    WHAT YOU NEED TO DO: 

    • If you find that you need to use your phone while driving, it must be affixed to the dashboard, center console, or windshield. You cannot hold the phone in your hand.
    • Only one touch or one swipe is allowed to activate GPS or to make or receive a call.
    • You can no longer manually dial a phone number or enter a GPS location while driving.

    WHAT WE RECOMMEND: 

    • Program your GPS before you drive. 
    • Call or text anyone before you depart to let them know you'll be driving and won't be using your phone
    • If you have an iPhone, go into settings and enable Do Not Disturb While Driving. If you have an Android, download the DriveMode app. These features will silence incoming calls and texts and will send an automatic response to let people know you are driving. 
    •  Remember, Hands-free is not risk-free, so the safest way to drive is to put the phone away and #justdrive 

     

    For more info, email [email protected] or visit www.mass.gov/handsfree